Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Hello there! First of all, let me give you my sincere apologies on my sparse postings lately – between vacation, preparing to move, and just general busy-ness, it’s been crazy around here! But here I am now, and I’ll do my best to make up (ha, that’s a pun… get it?) for it!

Alright, let’s get to it! First – a small caveat – I consider myself to be somewhat of a makeup newb. I never really was that into it growing up, and when I did, I pretty much taught myself how to wear it. Then, I went through a phase in later high school/college where I rarely wore anything at all. In my adult life I’ve worn it regularly, but I’ve only recently (the past 1-2 years) really gotten into experimenting and investing in makeup. Hence I wouldn’t call myself an expert by any stretch of the imagination, so just be warned that any review from me will be from a regular makeup wearer with an average to experimenting level of experience.

A few weeks ago I had a moment of weakness stroke of genius and stopped by Sephora to check out some makeup I’d had my eyes on for a while. I sometimes find the stuff in Sephora to be slightly high for my budget, so I typically do lots of research before buying products from there. One such product that I couldn’t help but read good things about is Hourglass’ Ambient Lighting Palette (Sephora).

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Palette
Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Palette
I kept reading about these Hourglass powders from many of my favorite bloggers, so I finally decided to give them a shot. As I was standing there wondering which powder to try, an associate walked up and suggested I try the palette. I was a bit wary due to the price ($58), but considering that you’re getting 3 different powders in pretty generous sizes that can be utilized in many different ways, I decided to pull the trigger.

Swatches of Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder
Swatches of Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder
And I have not been disappointed! I love how velvety the powder is, and the amount of shimmer is perfect. I find them to be very blendable and versatile. I typically use the middle shade (Incandescent Light, exclusive to this palette) as a highlighter, touching it onto my brow bone, middle of my eyelid, inner corner of my eye, cupid’s bow, and chin with a tapered eyeshadow brush to reflect a bit of light there. I use the left shade (Dim Light) with a powder brush either as an all-over setting powder or to get a very slight strobing effect (middle of forehead, top of cheekbones, bridge of nose). Finally I use the right shade (Radiant Light) as a bronzer, touching the hollows of my cheeks and my temples with a blush brush.

I am so pleased with this palette, and I’m glad that I invested in it. Also, a little goes a long way, so I imagine they will last for quite a while. Even though the price was a bit steep, in my opinion, you get what you pay for! I’d like to try one of the Hourglass blushes next, so we’ll see how that goes.

Thanks for reading – let me know if you use any of the Ambient Lighting Powders and if so, how you apply it and if you love it!

One thought on “Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Leave a Reply

