Stitch Fix Review (Box #4)

Hey y’all! How’s it going? Things have been busy lately for me, but also great! I wanted to take some time today to introduce you to Stitch Fix (although you’ve probably heard of it by now). I’ve had friends and family compliment me on clothes I’ve gotten from there, and a dear friend suggested that I review my next box on my blog. So here goes!

IMG_2594

First, the obligatory information: Stitch Fix is a personal styling service provided through mail subscription. Here’s how it works (yay, a list!!!)

  1. You sign up online and fill out a style profile (and a Pinterest board, if you’d like).
    1. There is a $20 styling fee, but that will be taken off any pieces you decide to keep.
  2. A stylist will send you 5 items that they think fits your style.
  3. You receive the box at your doorstep and have 3 days to try things on and decide what you’d like to keep.
  4. Check out online, including specific reasons for why you are keeping/returning it.
  5. Return items you don’t want using a provided pre-paid envelope, which can be dropped at your post office.
  6. If you would like to try it and this review has helped you, please use my link: https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/3748291. [End shameless plug 🙂 ]

I have generally loved most of the items I’ve received in my previous 3 boxes. I look to Stitch Fix for unique items that I can’t find in traditional stores. Because of this, I’m willing to spend a bit more money on clothes from Stitch Fix than I would in a traditional store, but that also means I’m more picky about what I keep.

Okay, moving on to the fun stuff! Let me tell you all about what I got in my box this month. First of all, I’ll explain that I asked for very specific items in my style notes this time, as I’m still kind of trying to do a capsule wardrobe, so I was hoping to fill some holes in my closet. Unfortunately, what I was sent didn’t quite fit my preference, but I’ll share with you anyway in the interest of full disclosure. (Also, spoiler alert: this story has a happy ending, as Stitch Fix has excellent customer service).

#1: Pixley Ohara Faux Wrap Tie-Waist Dress

IMG_2613

I asked for a cute work dress and this is what I received. I really wanted to like it, but I thought it didn’t do anything for my figure, and I didn’t love the color on me. Plus, the fabric didn’t seem to be a particularly great quality, and I thought it was a bit too short and casual for work. So, at the price point (I think it was roughly $50 or $60), I returned it.


#2: Market & Spruce Elissa French Terry Striped Moto Jacket

IMG_2615

I requested a springy blazer I could wear to work, and was sent this jacket. I hated it as soon as I saw it. Although I liked the stripes, the material is terry – yes, you heard me right, like the towels. Besides that, the asymmetrical zipper looked hideous on me, and it was too small to zip. Definitely returned.


#3: 41Hawthorn Rosa Tab Sleeve V-Neck Blouse

IMG_2610

I requested patterned blouses for work, so my stylist Alex sent this. I loved the deep blue color on me, and the sleeves have the tab option to make them ¾-sleeve. It’s also a fairly heavy, material, although the sleeves are sheer and the bodice is lined. I kept this one, although I must admit it was partially not to lose my $20 styling fee.

#4: Margaret M Emer Printed Cropped Straight Leg Pant

I was looking for a dark khaki ponte pant, which Alex said they didn’t have, so they sent these instead. Printed pants…. I don’t know, I just can’t. I kind of liked them, they fit fairly well (although strangely they had no fly or button at all), so they were more leggings style and stretchy material. But I couldn’t get over the idea that I could really only wear them to work, and likely not very often. Plus, the number of items I could pair them with that I already own were minimal. Finally, my husband HATED them. So, at the price point ($90-something, I think), I sent them back.


#5: Urban Expressions Lyla Woven Crossbody Bag

IMG_2599

Honestly, this was the biggest disappointment of my fix. I specifically asked for a bag that I’ve seen all over the place on Pinterest and the internet, in lovely spring/summer colors. They sent this instead. It was too small for me (I carry a lot and prefer larger bags), I already have a similar black bag that I like, and honestly all of the frills and details aren’t my style. I’m guessing they sent it because it matched the pant-blouse outfit so that the box had a “theme,” but it was nothing like what I asked for. As you can guess, I sent it back.

As to the aforementioned happy ending, I was both surprised and impressed to receive an email last week from a Stitch Fix representative, with an offer of a $20 styling credit for my next fix. I hadn’t expected this (although I’d read online that it was occasionally offered), but I was so thankful to receive it. My other 3 boxes I’ve kept at least 2 or 3 of the items (even all 5, as if you keep them all you get a 20% discount), so I was definitely disappointed with the box, and apparently Stitch Fix could tell. To make a long story short, I have another box coming at the end of May with a “seasoned stylist” who requested some more specific input from me about my style, so I’m very hopeful to get some awesome items soon. Of course, I will be sure to review it for y’all here, so stay tuned my lovely readers!

That’s all for now… I hope you all have a fantastic Mother’s Day and an awesome weekend. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

